Get your summer-weight on

I’m not sure exactly what it is about these trousers ($59.50) that I love so much but they just seem so light and summery and I can rarely resist that this time of year.  ( I own more pairs of summer-weight chinos than I care to admit to.)  

Image courtesy of Gap

Image courtesy of Gap

 

What I do know is that the very subtle blue and white stripe is a great way to add a bit of interest to an otherwise pretty basic pant.  It’s almost like seersucker, without actually being seersucker.  This would look really fresh paired with a white tank or tee.  Just make sure it’s a fitted* version versus a flowy one since these trousers are a relaxed fit.  (Never, ever go loose on top and bottom at the same time.  Ever.)  

 

If you want to polish up the look a little, yet keep the laid-back vibe, add a long silver necklace or hoop earrings.

If you want to take it up one more notch, a cotton or summer-weight wool blazer in navy would be the perfect final touch.

*Remember, “fitted” doesn’t necessarily mean “tight”.  I’ve seen too many women confuse these two terms…often with disastrous results.  Don’t be that girl.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Get your summer-weight on

  1. dlong

    Fashionista,
    Love the blog…Check it everyday! I enjoy the little tips you put out there. i.e. “Never, ever go loose on top and bottom at the same time. Ever.” Very helpful! I have a fashion dilemma. I bought an adorable fitted trench jean jacket and I have just enough fashion sense to know you can’t pair it with jeans. Any ideas? Thanks!

  2. hsanger

    Thanks – I’m so glad you like the site! As for your question, I think your denim trench would likely look great with a basic white trouser – go for skinny, wide leg, bootcut, whatever you’re comfy with. To be honest, I think you could wear it with almost any color trouser except denim or navy. Just stay away from crop pants with a trench. And I would probably go for a heel of some sort if the occasion permits. You want to keep the look long and lean… Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

