Topshop Talk

Well, it seems Topshop has finally made the leap across the pond. The first ever American store is scheduled to open this week in NYC (natch). And the fash pack are positively rabid with excitement.

Image courtesy of The Cut and Everett Bogue

Image courtesy of The Cut and Everett Bogue

Well, I have a startling confession to make.  Prepare yourselves.  

I’m just not that into Topshop.

There.  I said it.  Feels good to come clean.

As many of you know, I lived in London for three years up until this past fall.  So trust me when I say to you that I’m familiar with Topshop, or “Toppers” as it’s been affectionately nicknamed over there.  (Shortening words to make them end in “ers” {see Topshop example above} or “ie” {as in football becomes “footie”} is one of the great British past times.)  When I arrived on yonder shores in the fall of 2005, every local girl I met was all too happy to extoll the virtues of Topshop on me.  “You like fashion, so you simply must go to Topshop!  You’ll die!”  

So I went to Topshop and my general reaction was “Eh.”  The stuff was ok but it basically looked exactly like what every single girl on the street was wearing.  Primarily because that was exactly what every single girl on the street was wearing.  I walked in, walked around and walked out.  I didn’t see one single thing that interested me.  I’m aware that I’m in the serious minority here and I’m okay with that.  In fact, I take pride in being, quite possibly, the only twirty-something ever to have lived in London and purchased nothing more than a pair of black opaque tights from Topshop.  I was much more content with Ted Baker, French Connection and Whistles.

And if Topshop mania wasn’t already bad enough, Kate Moss (second only to Princess Diana in the hearts and minds of Britain) announced she was introducing a collection for Topshop.  As soon as I heard this, I knew it would be hysteria on the high street with girls queueing up the night before to get their very own piece of Kate’s style.  And, sure enough, it was.  News channels and papers covered the launch and interviewed the girls standing in line.  Topshop further fed the beast by announcing that each person was limited to purchasing a certain number of pieces, though I can’t recall what that number was.  Three, maybe five?  Either way, the decree served its purpose because no girl was coming out of there without her maximum allotment.  Once the doors opened, it was like a Prada sample sale.  Girls were stripping down and trying on the clothes right there in the aisles.  

Well, I’ve got another confession.

I’m just not that into Kate Moss’ style.

To me, she almost always looks sloppy, bordering on homeless.  Sure, it’s a look.  But I hardly think she’s pushing any fashion boundaries with denim cutoffs, a baggy white tee, a beat up leather jacket and Frye boots.  Just my opinion…

Anyway, I doubt Sir Philip Green has anything to worry about.  Either despite or perhaps because of the current economic environment, I’m sure there will be plenty of New York fashionistas more than ready to throw their cash (or Visa, more likely) at Topshop.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Topshop Talk

  1. Geo

    Hi there fashionista,

    I bought a summer top two years ago that still attracts many compliments every time I wear it. I haven’t seen anything that pretty again. Could one say that I found a needle in a haystack?

  2. hsanger

    Hey Geo,

    It certainly sounds like it! But just to be clear, I’m not saying Topshop doesn’t ever have cute stuff – just that most of the stuff I saw in the windows as I walked down the high street didn’t appeal to me. Just not really my style… I’m sure if I went in there and dug around, I could definitely find at least on top I liked! I’m sure yours is fab. I never saw you when you didn’t look cute!

  3. Suze

    I concur, TopShop (Toppers) is not my bag either. And the problem with buying Kate Moss-inspired jeans is that ONLY Kate Moss looks good in them.

Leave a Reply

